The Family Letter Blog

Connecting Generations

Joseph Biscoe Kingsbury’s Civil War Records

Leave a comment

Most people know I’m a big Civil War buff and some might assume its because I grew up in the land of magnolias and sweet tea. I think it is because my husband and I started visiting Civil War battlefields when we were first married so it is a  hobby we developed together. I am sure we will do even more of it when we retire.

One of the first things I did when I got interested in genealogy was to track the Civil War records of my ancestors and I have both Northern and Southern soldiers in my family tree. Our direct line Kingsbury ancestor who would have been old enough to fight in the American Civil War – Joseph Biscoe Kingsbury was born in Vermont in 1827. I knew from his daughter Ella Kingsbury Whitmore’s book entitled Salt of the Earth, published in 1944, that he did not serve. Here’s what she writes about that:

p.20 The Civil War came on with all its tragedy. To this day, the sound of the fife and bugle, on patriotic occasions, recalls those stirring days, small as I was. Our father’s place was seen to be with his family, so we were spared the anxiety that came to the homes from which the father joined the army.

Today I found out why Joseph Biscoe Kingsbury’s place was “seen to be with his family.” FLBlog.5.27.16

His name is on line 13 of the record copied above, which is the 1863 draft registration record for the Third Congressional District of Iowa. He is registered as Class II, which is the designation for married men over 35. If he’d been born one year later, he would have been Class I and might have been drafted in the later years of the war.

 

 

Author: kakingsbury

I finally took the leap and started a blog in mid-March 2014. I currently maintain three blogs "All Things Kalen" "The Family Letter Blog" and "Trovando Famiglia." Trovando Famiglia is about my husband's family, particularly the original four Giorgio brothers who immigrated to western Pennsylvania from San Vito Chietino, Italy in the late 1800s. The Giorgio boys and their descendants have been the focus of my genealogical research over the past two years. The blog allows me to share family stories and photographs. Thanks for checking me out!

Leave a Reply

