The Family Letter Blog

Connecting Generations

Method to my Madness

2 Comments

I wonder if my grandfather – Joseph Bush Kingsbury – was organized? Could he find things on his desk? Did he misplace bills and get past due notices? Could he stay on top of the grading and lectures that were required of a college professor but run out of milk?

From the volumes of meticulous diaries and financial ledgers that I have inherited, I imagine that he was completely organized. And yet – he was a Kingsbury and I know from my own experience and that of my father’s – he might have suffered from some of the same organizational challenges we face.

My husband calls it – “a German mind trapped in an Italian body.”(No offense intended to the thousands of organized Italians out there.)  I can’t blame it on the Italian genes (although I do have 7% Italian DNA that I cannot begin to explain) but I understand what he means. I crave organization and efficiency -but I often let mail go piling up for WEEKS before I open it. Since I’m the only person in my family who knows how to open mail – that can create problems.

Any other Kingsburys out there who want to ‘fess up?

This is a segue into a post that will probably appear tomorrow about something my grandfather and his older brother did almost 100 years ago that I would like to do some day. Stay tuned and weigh in on the question – what sort of organizational skills are imbedded in the Kingsbury DNA?

 

 

 

Author: kakingsbury

I finally took the leap and started a blog in mid-March 2014. I currently maintain three blogs "All Things Kalen" "The Family Letter Blog" and "Trovando Famiglia." Trovando Famiglia is about my husband's family, particularly the original four Giorgio brothers who immigrated to western Pennsylvania from San Vito Chietino, Italy in the late 1800s. The Giorgio boys and their descendants have been the focus of my genealogical research over the past two years. The blog allows me to share family stories and photographs. Thanks for checking me out!

2 thoughts on “Method to my Madness

  1. Hi Kalen, My grandfather, Dean Kingsbury was thoroughly organized.

    I don’t know if this was because of growing up in a family hardware store environment or not.

    Grandpa was also an engineer and responsible for the physical plants of all SAC bases world wide.

    He and grandma kept a very clean and organised work environment in the pottery shop at Old Sturbridge Village as well. He designed the modern production area below the authentic old pottery shop where all the pottery demostration took place for the tourists… and he specifically told me how important it was to grandma and him to have a clean and organised work environment… even when working with clay… their apartment was also very tidy…

    I did not inherit this gene myself…

    Best, Chris On May 26, 2016 8:05 PM, “The Family Letter Blog” wrote:

    > kakingsbury posted: “I wonder if my grandfather – Joseph Bush Kingsbury – > was organized? Could he find things on his desk? Did he misplace bills and > get a past due notice? Could he stay on top of the grading and lectures > that were required of college professor but run out of ” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris –
    I didn’t think about the effect of growing up in a hardware store but I can’t think of a more organized place. Thanks for leaving a comment.
    Kalen

    Like

Leave a Reply

